Tishta the Crystal Orb: Part 1 Editing Done (for now)

I was super excited six days ago to announce I had finished the second draft of Book One of The Wolf Dream Books, “Tishta the Crystal Orb.” I envisioned a quick final edit through the whole book—correcting case; adding missing periods and commas; making sure the characters’ voices rang true.

It turns out, even though I thought I had changed my writing to use fewer gerunds and shorter sentences, I hadn’t. Well, not the way I’m writing now. So, the beginning of the book is in a much different writing style from the end of the book. I guess, I should have expected that. I was trying out new writing skills, and that was nine months ago.

I have made some pretty extensive changes in “Part One: Coming Together.” Not to the story, so much, but to the way I tell it. Even spending every free moment (and some when I should have been doing other things) working on these five chapters, it took me six days to finish. I ended up re-recording every one of the twenty-eight scenes. This is the shortest part, at 71 pages (down from 73, pre-edit). I hope, by the last half of the book, that I won’t have so many of these kinds of changes to make. When I finish this edit, I will circle back to do the edits I was planning to do around syntax and whatever.

One of the nice things about going through these first chapters is revisiting the beginnings. Although much of it is very, very familiar, there are things I added in the second draft that I don’t remember so clearly. It is giving me a chance to experience at least some of the story as a “new” reader might. I still like it. A lot. I think this is a good thing. But, I like it even better with the edits I just completed.

This edit is going to take a while—at least a month, if I can manage to get through a chapter a day—but, I am all right with that. Everything about writing this book has taken far longer than I could ever have imagined. I’m not trying to make it perfect, but I want to ensure it is complete. I am much closer to that than I was at the beginning of the second draft. I feel fairly confident that I won’t be adding much to this revision. I hope I don’t need to, because that will mean I found a hole in the story.

When all is said and done, I love to write. I knew this before I started writing in earnest two-and-a-half years ago, but I never found the time to act on it. Now, I know. It’s something I must do. The more I write, the more I write. It stimulates ideas, even if they’re not for the story I’m currently working on. If I could, I would do it full time. I like it that much.

Copyright ©2014-17 Ramona Ridgewell. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

